What is Fellowship?

The Academy’s Fellowship programme awards individual members of the Academy who have made a significant contribution to optometry, optics or vision science at a local, national and/or international level. You must be an Academy member to apply for the Fellowship (for at least the year before the Fellowship interview).

The Academy awards Fellowship to members who have shown excellence and/or innovation in one or more of the Fellowship categories. Fellowship is a mark of achievement to which all members of the Academy can aspire. The Academy’s Fellowship application process is by a portfolio of evidence to demonstrate your achievements. It is intended to be supportive and enable Academy members from diverse backgrounds to aim for recognition by their peers. The portfolio may reflect your past and/or current roles and activities.

Being accepted as a Fellow of the Academy entitles you to use the letters FEAOO after your name, and you will be expected to be an active member and ambassador of the Academy.

Membership and Dues Information

To maintain the prestigious designation of Fellow of the European Academy of Optometry (FEAOO) and retain active membership status, members are required to fulfil certain obligations and be active.

Fellows are required to pay annual dues as set by the Board of Trustees.

The membership term runs from January 1 to December 31 of each calendar year.

Members who fail to remit payment by April 30 will be deactivated on May 1.


If your membership has lapsed, and you wish to reinstate your Fellowship, you will be required to pay all back dues you missed for the last five years. If it has been more than five years since your membership lapsed, you will need to complete the Fellowship process again if you wish to become a Fellow once more.

For assistance with reinstating your membership, please email membership@eaoo.info.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sort by:



Christine Allison


Giancarlo Montani

Italy Italy

Olga Prenat

France France flag

Sandra Block


Kyriakos Telamitsi

Cyprus Flag-Cyprus

Esther Simone Visser

The Netherlands Netherlands

Arjan Keuken

The Netherlands Netherlands

Rakhee Shah

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Simon Barnard

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Peter Black

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Kumar Kapoor Rakesh

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Peter Allen

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Elaine Grisdale

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Maria Giulia Muzzi

Italy Italy

Ving Fai Chan

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Rabia Mobeen

Australia Australia

Wilson Movic


Timothy Wingert


Sonja Zinken

The Netherlands Netherlands

Shehzad Naroo

United Kingdom United_Kingdom

Do you want to be a part of this family?

Unlock a world of opportunities in optometry and optics by becoming a member of the EAOO community. Join us today and embark on a journey of professional growth, knowledge sharing, and innovation!

Become a member